Skip to Main Content

Sczucka - Supreme Court Landmark Case Research: Research

Students will research a landmark Supreme Court Case, as they work to answer the overall question: To what extent have Supreme Court rulings bettered the lives of Americans?

About

This page includes databases and websites that will be helpful for gathering initial details of the case. Students should be using at least four credible sources for this assignment, and will have to use their critical thinking skills, as well as recent commentary, to answer the overall question. 

Databases

        Database :            Includes:
  
  • Overview
  • Background
  • Outcome
  • Glossary Terms
  • Media
  • Associated Biographies
                                                                                    
  • Overview
  • Background
  • Outcome
  • Glossary Terms
  • Media
  • Associated Biographies
  • Case Overviews
  • Media
  • News/Magazine articles
  • Reference articles
  • Primary sources 
  • Biographies
  • Academic Journals
  • General overview that can be leveled up or down
  • Sometimes includes images/media, primary sources, and related content

   ABC-CLIO Login Info

Websites

Supreme Court Landmarks (United States Courts) : Provides a background of the case, the decision, podcasts about the case, and additional related links.

Landmark Cases of the U.S. Supreme Court : Includes overviews, full case summaries, diagrams, case summary graphic organizers, decision summaries, notable excerpts, primary source reactions to the decisions, important vocab and more. 

Oyez : Go-to source for all Supreme Court audio since 1955; site includes facts of the cases, the questions they addressed, conclusions, and individual Justice's decisions.

Justia : All Supreme Court full-text decisions; keyword search or browse by year or volume of United States Reports; includes cases, facts, attorneys who served on the case, Majority/Minority breakdown with Justice's opinions on the case, commentary, audio/media files, and more.

Supreme Court of the United States : Information about the Supreme Court and the Justices throughout history; includes argument transcripts and audio, as well as opinions of the court since 1991.