LibGuides: IB Psychology: Psychology IA

Internal Assessment : Psychology

Students will "carry out a replication of an experiment and report the results ... The topic of your investigation can be taken from any area of psychology as long as it meets the methodological, ethical, and other requirements outlined..." in the psychology text book (Popov et al., 2017, p. 488).

Topic Requirements

Theory, model or the research study must appear in a peer-reviewed journal
Word Count : 1800-2200 words and includes an Introduction, Exploration, Analysis, Evaluation, References, Appendices

Reference Requirements

Every in-text citation needs a matching entry in the Reference section
References must be complete
Chicago, APA, or MLA can be used, but the citation style must remain consistent throughout the report

Psychology IA Tips

IB Psychology IA - Learn How to Nail Your Upcoming IA! (Shreya Tripathi) : Discover how Psychology IAs are scored and tips on meeting the criteria in the IB Psychology IA

Tips for Reading Psychology Journal Articles (Kendra Cherry) : Learn how to breakdown psychology journal articles for better understanding

Find an Article Here!

	Search academic, peer-reviewed articles from multiple disciplines. Browse psychology topics Access through this LibGuide
	Gale research database dedicated specifically to psychology. * Filter your search by "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" *Access through this LibGuide
	Scholarly research database that includes access to 34 psychology journals. *Sign in with your Google account
	Extensive research database that covers many disciplines, including psychology. * Filter your search by "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" *Sign in with your Google account
	Search scholarly resources in many disciplines. *If you find an article you're interested in that isn't full text, ask Mrs. Minton for help finding access to the full article.

Open Web Sources

Still can't find a study? Give these open journals a try!

ResearchGate : open access to articles in many disciplines, including psychology; can filter by full-text.

Hindawi : search peer-reviewed, open access scholarly journals

PsychOpen : psychology open access journals ; includes research articles, reports and more

Directory of Open Access Journals : find open access journals in the field of Psychology

Nature : international peer-reviewed journal covering the latest in fields of science and technology; articles are open

Advances in Cognitive Psychology : archive of the open access journal Advances in Cognitive Psychology ; journal covers "behavioral, cognitive, and brain sciences"

Current Research in Social Psychology : peer-reviewed, open access to the journal Current Research in Social Psychology

Noodletools

Use Noodletools to accurately cite your sources and keep your research organized.

IB Psychology: Psychology IA