McMorrow : Infectious Diseases Research: Historically Significant Epidemics: Home

Research one historically significant epidemic or disease outbreak, write a paper and prepare a presentation.  This project will be weighted as a major assessment and you will also give a presentation on it.

Project Outline & Rubric:

Part 1 : Research

• Use this Epidemic Project Graphic Organizer to keep track of your research

Part 2: Paper

• Will include information collected on the graphic organizer
• Will provide detailed coverage of your infectious disease
• Will include 4 properly cited sources 

Part 3: Presentation

• Powerpoint or Google Slides
• Minimum of 10 slides
• May present with a partner or Screencastify the presentation

Use Noodletools to cite your sources, take notes, and organize your research. All students have access to Noodletools. Click on the icon above and select the Google icon to get started.

World Health Organization - Search an infectious disease and receive an overview, symptoms, treatment, recent case tracking, multimedia, fact sheet, question & answer segment, latest new coverage of the disease, and more.

U.S. National Library of Medicine - Website provides information about each infectious disease, along with links to countless reputable resources to help fill in any gaps.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention - Coverage of disease includes explanation, transmission, prevention and vaccinations, outbreaks, signs and symptoms, diagnoses, and links to additional resources.

National Foundation for Infectious Diseases -  Website provides a summary, symptoms, and prevention of various infectious diseases.

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases - Includes an overview of infectious diseases, along with data for researchers, diagnoses and treatment information, and the latest news on the topic.

Why choose a database as a starting point for research?

• Variety of resources compiled into one subject specific database.
• Articles are peer reviewed and updated as information changes.
• Citations are provided for every resource in the database.

	Numerous articles including summaries, descriptions, causes, and treatment of various infectious diseases.
	Provides a summary, historical context, treatment, and the course the infectious disease takes.
	Database provides reference, magazine, and newspaper articles, primary sources, images, and videos about your infectious disease, within an historical context!
	Database provides multiple articles from a scientific and wellness perspective about various infectious diseases. Articles often include diagnoses, causes, treatments, and statistics
	Articles on infectious diseases from a medical perspective. Includes current research and studies from a scholarly perspective.