Fig. 1. Game of Senet.
Daily Life (Canadian Museum of History) : Resources includes sub-articles on food, shelter, transportation, trades and crafts, and clothing and adornment.
Leisure, Recreation, and Daily Life: Overview (World Eras) : Article discusses housing, clothing, food, drink, sports and games in Ancient Egypt.
Ancient Egypt: 3000–332 BCE: Leisure, Recreation, and Daily Life (UXL World Eras) : Provides extensive coverage of life in Ancient Egypt, including housing, food, furniture, clothing, gardens, hairstyles, and more.
Ancient Egypt: 3000–332 BCE: The Family and Social Trends (UXL World Eras) : Shares what family life was like in Ancient Egypt, specifically marriage and children, training for professions, childbirth, raising children, and the elderly.
Children (The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students) : Scroll down to "Egypt" to read about life for children, including the difference in raising male and female children.
Education (The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students) : Scroll down to "Egypt" to learn about the education system and the role social status played in accessing it.
Marriage (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Discusses the marriage ceremony, marriage contract, and marriage trends in Ancient Egypt.
Women in Ancient Egypt (World History Encyclopedia) : Describes the differences and similarities between men and women in Ancient Egypt.
Fig. 2. Mummification.
Sciences (Canadian Museum of History) : Site provides links to articles on the Ancient Egyptian calendar, mathematics, astronomy, and medicine.
Medicine (World Eras) : Describes the state of health in Ancient Egypt, the blending of medicine and religion, theories on disease, the use of magic in medicine, and known medical procedures.
Mummification (World Eras) : Explains the procedure and reasoning for preserving the dead in Ancient Egypt.
Mathematics (World Eras) : Shares the contributions and impact Ancient Egyptians have had on arithmetic, algebra, geometry, and trigonometry.
Astronomy and Time Measurement (World Eras) : Article explains the studies and predictions made using the night sky to formulate calendars and keep time.
Doctors, Drugs, and Death in Ancient Egypt (Science and Its Times) : Provides background on medicine in Ancient Egypt and its impact on civilizations to follow.
Fig. 3. Egyptian Beadnet Dress (Detail).
Egyptian Clothing (Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages) : Explains how Egyptians conformed their sense of style to the climate and materials they had available.
Egyptian Headwear (Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages) : Article describes how a person's hairstyle reflected their place in society.
Egyptian Footwear (Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages) : Brief article describes when sandals were introduced to Egyptian culture.
Linen (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Paragraph write-up explains the process Egyptians used to make linen for clothing.
Cosmetics and Perfumes (World Eras) : Discusses Ancient Egyptian hygiene, soaps, eye makeup, lip color, wrinkle remover, perfumes, and tattoos.
Weaving (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Brief paragraph describes the spinning process used to create cloth in Ancient Egypt.
Clothing and Adornment (Canadian Museum of History) : Webpage provides overview of clothing, footwear, hairstyles, makeup, jewelry, and hygiene from the Ancient Egypt.
Fig.4. Ancient Egyptian Music and Dancing.
Ancient Egypt: 3000–332 BCE: The Arts (UXL World Eras) : Overview of architecture, painting, sculpture, literature, music, dance, and theatre in Ancient Egypt.
Music (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Article discusses the role of music in Ancient Egypt.
Drama (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Brief explanation of the limited role dramatic productions played in Ancient Egypt.
Painting (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Describes the types of paintings of the time period and how they were made.
Dancing (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Shares the reasons for dancing in Ancient Egypt, as well as the role of dance companies and professional dancers.
Musical Instruments (World Eras) : Article describes the types of instruments used in Ancient Egypt.
Songs (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Short summary of the types of songs one might have experienced in Ancient Egypt.
Ancient Egyptian Art (Khan Academy) : Describes the function of Egyptian art, including art that wasn't meant to be see by the human eye.
Fig. 5. Canopic Jars of Djedbastetiuefankh.
Ancient Egypt Mummification (National Geographic) : Infographic shows the mummification process for preparing bodies for the afterlife.
Canopic Jars and Chests (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt) : Explains the purpose of Canopic jars and how they changed from the Old, Middle, and New Kingdoms.
Sarcophagi (National Geographic) : Explains what a sarcophagus is and why Egyptians believed they were important.
Mummification (British Museum) : Brief article on mummification that includes interactive pictures to explore mummies and canopic jars.
What Are Mummies? (DK Find Out!) : Article describes what a mummy is and allows the user to explore and learn about a mummy's coffin through interactive pictures.
Valley of the Kings (DK Find Out!) : Learn about and explore these underground tombs.
Take notes and cite your sources using NoodleTools.