“The people are the supreme judge of how governments fulfill their mission because it is the person who gave them power and who care as such, the ability to revoke.” - John Locke
Fig. 1. Sir Godfrey Kneller, Portrait of John Locke, 1697.
John Locke (History with Mr. E - A Social Studies Professional) - PDF provides a solid summary of Locke's political philosophy.
John Locke (Britannica School) - Database article covering Locke's life, career, publications, philosophy, and events of the time that influenced his work; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
John Locke (UXL Biographies) - Database article summarizing Locke's life, his philosophy, his major works, and his lasting influence.
John Locke (Great Thinkers) - All encompassing webpage that includes a biography and a close look at his beliefs and philosophy; click on "Biography" to read the whole biography and "Introduction" to learn about his political philosophy.
John Locke (Biography.com) - Webpage sharing Locke's early life, education, writing, beliefs, and impact.
"I do not wish them [women] to have power over men; but over themselves." - Mary Wollstonecraft
Fig. 2. Mary Wollstonecraft.
Mary Wollstonecraft (Britannica School) - Database article provides an overview of Wollstonecraft's life, writings, and beliefs; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Mary Wollstonecraft (Encyclopedia of World Biography Online) - Database article provides a complete summary of Mary's life, events of the time that led to her beliefs, as well as an overview of her publications.
Mary Wollstonecraft: 'Britain's Fist Feminist' (BBC) - Webpage shares Wollstonecraft's life in timeline form, later touching upon her lasting legacy in regards to equal rights for women.
Mary Wollstonecraft (Biography.com) - Webpage covering Wollstonecraft's life, works, and legacy.
“Subjects have no greater liberty in a popular than in a monarchial state. That which deceives them is the equal participation of command.” - Thomas Hobbes
Fig. 3. John Michael Wright, Thomas Hobbes, 17th century.
Thomas Hobbes (History with Mr. E - A Social Studies Professional) - PDF provides a solid summary of Hobbes political philosophy.
Thomas Hobbes (Britannica School) - Database article covering his early life, intellectual development, political philosophy, and influence; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Thomas Hobbes (DISCovering Biography) - Database article provides historical context of the time period, basic description of his life, and a more thorough look at his work and impact.
Thomas Hobbes (Great Thinkers) - All inclusive webpage that shares Hobbes's biography, political philosophy, and work; click on "Biography" to read the whole biography and "Introduction" to learn about his political philosophy.
Thomas Hobbes (Biography.com) - Webpage shares information on Hobbes' life, political philosophy, and writings.
“It is better that ten guilty escape than one innocent suffer.” - William Blackstone
Fig. 4. Sir Joshua Reynolds, A portrait of the famous British jurist Sir William Blackstone (1723–1780).
William Blackstone (Britannica School) - Database article covering Blackstone's life and legacy; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
William Blackstone (The First Amendment Encyclopedia) - Webpage highlighting Blackstone's political philosophy and writings.
William Blackstone, Sir (Encyclopedia of World Biography Online) - Database article with brief biographical information on Blackstone, specifically highlighting his work and influence.
