“To practice five things under all circumstances constitutes perfect virtue; these five are gravity, generosity of soul, sincerity, earnestness, and kindness.” - Confucius
Fig. 1. Confucius.
Confucius (Britannica School) - Extensive database article covering his life, impact, and current interpretations of his work; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Confucius (Ancient Civilizations Reference Library) - Database article discusses Confucius's legacy, role as a teacher, as well as his political influence and philosophy.
Confucius (Historic World Leaders) - Database article provides a solid overview of Confucius and his teachings.
Confucius (World History Encyclopedia) - Webpage includes information about his life, works, philosophy, and legacy.
"If a man destroys the eye of another man, they shall destroy his eye." - Hammurabi
Fig. 2. Hammurabi, bas-relief stone carving.
Hammurabi (Britannica School) - Database article covers Hammurabi's rule over the Babylonian Empire; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Code of Hammurabi (Britannica School) - Database article explains the development of the Code of Hammurabi and the laws with which it consisted.
Hammurabi (Historic World Leaders) - Database article provides a timeline of his rule, his policies, along with his laws and edicts compiled in the Code of Hammurabi.
Hammurabi (World History Encyclopedia) - Webpage includes information on Hammurabi's background, rise to power, the Code, and his legacy; includes timeline of his life.
"I teach kings the history of their ancestors, so that the lives of the ancients might serve them as an example, for the world is old, but the future springs from the past." Griot Djeli Mamadou Kouyaté, p. 1 (referencing Sundiata's rule)
Fig. 3. North Africa and Spain, including the Mali Empire, from the Catalan Atlas by Abraham Cresques.
Sundiata Keita (National Geographic) - Webpage provides summary of Sundiata, the first ruler of Mali. Includes information on his origins, economic and political events that shaped his rule, his beliefs set forth in the Manden Charter, and information surrounding his death.
Sundjata Keita (Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students) - Database article discusses Sundiata's impact on West African customs and laws, as well as his period of rule over Mali.
Sundiata Keita (Encyclopedia of World Biography Online) - Database article describes the stories and legends surrounding Sundaita Kieta.
Sundiata Keita (World History Encyclopedia) - Webpage explores his life, legends, and the Mali government under his rule.
"Remember, when one's aim is to achieve greatness... everyone is expendable." - Empress Wu Zetian
Fig. 4. Empress Wu Zetian.
Wuhou (Britannica School) - Database article shares background information on the Empress, her rule, as well as her impact on Chinese civilization; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Wu Tse-t'ien (Encyclopedia of World Biography Online) - Database article explains Wu's rise to power and how she fought to maintain it.
Wu Ze-tian (Middle Ages Reference Library) - Database article describes the extreme and shocking actions of Wu to become ruler over China. Briefly touches upon her policy and how it improved China.
Wu Zetian (World History Encyclopedia) - Webpage summarizes Wu's life, rise to power, reign, and reforms; includes timeline of her life.
"Teach thy tongue to say 'I do not know,' and thou shalt progress." - Maimonides
Fig. 5. Maimonides (Moses Ben Maimon).
Maimonides (Britannica School) - Database article describes his life and the significance of his work; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Moses ben Maimon (Science and Its Times) - Database article explains the impact Maimonides' writings have had on Judaism, philosophy, and medicine.
Moses Maimonideas (Great Thinkers) - All inclusive webpage shares his background, works, and philosophy; click on "Biography" to read the whole biography and "Introduction" to learn about his political philosophy.
Moses Maimonides (BBC) - Webpage shares details about his personal life and supports the claim that Maimonides is one of the most important Jewish figures in history.
