"The harshest tyranny is that which acts under the protection of legality and the banner of justice.” - Baron de Montesquieu
Fig. 2. Charles Secondat, Baron de Montesquieu.
Baron de Montesquieu (History with Mr. E - A Social Studies Professional) - PDF provides a solid summary of Montesquieu's political philosophy.
Montesquieu (Britannica School) - Database article focuses on Montesquieu's life, works, and political philosophy -- which heavily influenced the U.S. Constitution; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Baron de Montesquieu, Charles-Louis de Secondat (Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy) - A scholarly webpage that covers his life and work in depth.
Charles-Louis de Secondat (Biography.com) - Webpage provides a solid summary of Montesquieu's personal life, legacy, and political ideals.
“Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers.” - Voltaire
Fig. 1. Portrait of the French playwright and Enlightenment thinker Voltaire.
Voltaire (History with Mr. E - A Social Studies Professional) - PDF provides a solid summary of Voltaire's political philosophy.
Voltaire (Britannica School) - Comprehensive database article covering the life and legacy of Voltaire; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Voltaire (New Catholic Encyclopedia) - Database article that explains how Voltaire was effected by the political turmoil of the time. The article touches upon his work and philosophy as well.
Voltaire (Biography.com) - Webpage covers Voltaire's colorful life, as well as his beliefs, philosophy, and works.
Voltaire (The First Amendment Encyclopedia) - Webpage explains Voltaire's philosophy, beliefs, and the impact of his writings.
“Every man has a right to risk his own life for the preservation of it.” - Jean-Jacques Rousseau
Fig. 3. Jean-Jacques Rousseau.
Jean-Jacques Rousseau (History with Mr. E - A Social Studies Professional) - PDF provides a solid summary of Rousseau's political philosophy.
Jean-Jacques Rousseau (Britannica School) - Database article covers the life, works, and political philosophy of Rousseau; click on "Reading Level 3" for a more detailed text.
Rousseau, Jean-Jacques (1712-1778) (Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society) - Database article covering Rousseau's background, ideas, and influence.
Jean Jacques Rousseau (Great Thinkers) - Webpage focuses on his life and works; click on "Biography" to read the whole biography and "Introduction" to learn about his political philosophy.
